Poor Law Unions, Dispensary Districts & District Electoral Divisions [DEDs] of North Antrim, c.1900

This map shows the Poor Law Unions in North Antrim, part of Mid Antrim and the eastern part of Co. Londonderry after the County Council Act of 1898. As a result of that Act, Portrush and Bushmills became part of Ballymoney Poor Law Union and Kilrea was part of Coleraine Poor Law Union [see earlier map of Poor Law Unions in North Antrim and East Londonderry c.1860]. The map below also shows the Dispensary Districts within each Poor Law Union plus the DEDs within each Dispensary District. Note that, in most cases, the Dispensary District doubled as the Local Registrar's District for the registration of births and deaths. Marriages were usually registered at the relevant Superintendent Registrar's District which was normally the Poor Law Union office. In the map below:

  • The boundaries and names of each Poor Law Union [Superintendent Registrar's District] are shown in green.
  • The boundaries and names of each Dispensary [Local Registrar's] District are shown in blue.
  • The names of each DED within each Dispensary District are shown in red. Note, however, that the map only gives a general impression of the location of each DED within each Dispensary District - no DED boundaries are shown.
  • Note also that only some of the Dispensary Districts and the DEDs in Ballymena Poor Law Union are shown. Apart from Clogh, I am not sure of the boundaries of the Dispensary Districts in the Ballymena PLU, so they are missing.
  • Also, only Waterfoot Dispensary District and Ardclinis DED are shown in Larne Poor Law Union. Again, I am not sure of the boundaries.
  • For more details on the townlands within each DED, see the database of Townlands in North Antrim and their Administrative Divisions at the Administrative Divisions link in the top menu.

Copyright 2009 W. Macafee.