Map of the District Electoral Divisons [D.E.D.s] in Draperstown Dispensary District

With the introduction of the Poor Law in the 1840s, new administrative divisions were introduced based on the Poor Law Unions. Each Poor Law Union was further subdivided into District Electoral Divisions usually referred to as D.E.D.s. The D.E.D.s were grouped by district. These districts were the Dispensary Districts created after the Medical Charities Act of 1851. These same districts also doubled as the Local Registrars' Districts after the introduction of compulsory civil registration of all marriages, births and deaths in 1864. The Poor Law Unions were also the Superintendent Registrars' Districts overseeing the Local Registrars' Districts.

This map shows the Draperstown Dispensary District which lay within the Magherafelt Poor Law Union. When using the 1901 and 1911 Census returns and the Griffith's Revision Books from 1860, it is important to know in which DED a townland was situated. Also when looking for civil marriages, births and deaths it is important to know in which Local Registrar's District an event was registered.

As the map below shows Draperstown Dispensary District included all of the townlands from the parish of Ballynascreen, identified in black, plus some townlands, identified in red, from the parish of Kilcronaghan [Brackaghlislea, Cloughfin, Coolsaragh, Gortahurk, Keenaght, Killynumber, Killytoney and Moybeg Kirley], the parish of Desertmartin [Boveagh, Cullion, Iniscarn and Longfield] and the parish of Maghera [Brackaghreilly, Drumconready, Kirley and Lisnamuck]. The boundaries of the new electoral divisons [D.E.Ds] are shown in blue.

Copyright 2009 W. Macafee.