Defining the Sperrins Area

I am defining the Sperrins Area in Co. Tyrone as the region covered by the civil parishes of:

Cappagh, Clogherny and Termonmaguirk in the Barony of Omagh East.

Derryloran, Desertcreat, Kildress and Lissan in the Barony of Dungannon Upper [formerly the Barony of Mountjoy].

Ardstraw, Camus, Donagheady, Leckpatrick and Urney in the Barony of Strabane Lower.

Bodoney Lower, Bodoney Upper and Cappagh in the Barony of Strabane Upper.

Cumber Lower, Cumber Upper, Learmount and part of Banagher in the Barony of Tirkeeran.

Banagher, Bovevagh and Dungiven in the Barony of Keenaght.

Ballynascreen, Killelagh, Maghera, Kilcronaghan, Desertmartin, Desertlyn and Lissan in the Barony of Loughinsholin.

The parishes in bold letters are those parishes with a greater number of upland townland,

W. Macafee
March 2014.